Alan Rogers / Casper Star-Tribune / AP

Federal government to recognize same-sex marriage in six more states

Gay married couples to receive federal benefits in Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, North Carolina, West Virginia and Wyoming

The U.S. federal government is recognizing same-sex marriage in six more states and extending federal benefits to those couples, Attorney General Eric Holder announced Saturday.

Same-sex marriage recently became legal in the six states: Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, North Carolina, West Virginia and Wyoming.

The government's announcement follows the Supreme Court’s decision earlier this month to decline to hear appeals from five states that sought to keep their marriage bans in place. It brings the total number of states with federal recognition of gay marriage to 32, plus the District of Columbia.

Couples married in these states will qualify for a range of federal benefits, including Social Security and veterans' benefits.

"With each new state where same-sex marriages are legally recognized, our nation moves closer to achieving full equality for all Americans," Holder said.

The attorney general said the government is working "as quickly as possible" to make sure same-sex married couples in these states receive the "fullest array of benefits" that federal law allows.

The Justice Department also has determined that it can legally recognize gay marriages performed this summer in Indiana and Wisconsin, after federal courts declared marriage bans in the states unconstitutional. Subsequent developments created confusion about the status of those unions, but Holder said the U.S. government will recognize the marriages.

The Associated Press

Find Al Jazeera America on your TV

Get email updates from Al Jazeera America

Sign up for our weekly newsletter

Get email updates from Al Jazeera America

Sign up for our weekly newsletter