Fault Lines - Life After Guantánamo - full episode

September 26, 2014 12:00AM ET

Fault Lines travels to Yemen to explore the consequences of the US policy of indefinite detention

Middle East
Guantanamo Bay

President Obama has not made good on his promise to close Guantanamo Bay prison, which he made via an executive order he signed on his first full day in office. Since then, the U.S. Congress has raised the political price of transferring detainees—even those held without charges and already cleared for release.

In 2013, some of the detained men were on hunger strike as their loved ones continued their fight for a life after Guantanamo. Several others who were formerly detained now live in Yemen. Have they been tempted to “return to the battlefield” as Congress warns? Did years of detention, isolation and torture make them want to seek revenge against the United States? And how are they rebuilding their lives?

Fault Lines travels to Yemen to explore the consequences of the U.S. policy of indefinite detention.


Executive Producer: Mathieu Skene, Correspondent: Wab Kinew @wabkinew, Producer: Andrea Schmidt @whatescapes, Producer (Yemen): Nasser Arrabyee @narrabyee,Director of Photography: Saeed Taji Farouky @saeedtaji (Yemen), Singeli Agnew @singeli (DC), Thierry Humeau @telecamfilms, Joel Van Haren @joelvanharen, Editor: Adrienne Haspel @adihaspel, Associate Producers: Abdulai Bah @africandobah, Nicole Salazar @nicolesalazar, Translation: Rabyaah Althaibani @Rabyaah, Omar Duwaji @mideasternist, Research & Production Assistance: Omar Duwaji @mideasternist, Ana Giraldo Wingler @awanderingorill, Jonathan Klett @jonathanklett, Mark Scialla @markscialla
Special Thanks to David Remes (@remesdh) who appeared in the film.

More Fault Lines Episodes

Fault Lines - America’s Infant Mortality Crisis - full episode

Fault Lines explores why, despite advanced prenatal care, so many infant lives are at risk in the US

Health Care

Fault Lines - Baltimore: Anatomy of an American City - full episode

Fault Lines investigates the interplay of race, poverty and incarceration in a US election year

Race & Ethnicity

Fault Lines - Punishment and Profits: Immigration Detention - full episode

Fault Lines investigates the business of immigrant detention in the US